TECH

How to use Check In for your home, different places and with timers

Mark sending via iMessage when displaying notification via dynamic island

Registration is a great way to notify a member family or friend that you have arrived safely at your destination, but it can also be useful in other scenarios. Here's how to use the Check-In feature for an alternative use in iOS 17.

When activated, Check-In will automatically notify a friend when your iPhone arrives, and you can choose what details they can see if you don't complete the check-in. . Likewise, if a friend sends you a check-in message but their iPhone hasn't arrived properly, you can view its location, battery percentage, cell signal, and more.

However, this feature has other uses, such as a timer to notify a loved one about your safety when meeting someone new. You can also use it to inform the recipient of your arrival without using the ETA in Maps if you already know the route.

Check-in is mainly advertised to be for when you get home, but it is useful in other scenarios as well. Diving deeper into its menus and customization options will open up new uses that you may not have thought of before.

How to Tell Someone You've Arrived at Your Destination

Telling Someone That You've Arrived Safely at Your Destination is the most commonly used check-in scenario and is easy to enable. Here's how to set it up before your next trip.

  1. Open messages
  2. Enter a conversation with the person you want to send a tag to
  3. Click on the plus (+ ) next to the message field
  4. Click Register
  5. Click Edit at the bottom of the invitation
  6. Enter the destinationyou are going to
  7. Select “Done”in the upper right corner and Submit verification

When entering the address you are going to, you can select the type of transport — be it driving, public transport or walking. It is very important to choose the one you use so that your device can accurately calculate how long it will take you to arrive.

If you know you'll arrive a little later than Check In predicts, you can manually add extra time to the calculation. You can add an additional 15 minutes, 30 minutes or an hour, which can also be removed after installation.

If you enter the recipient's location instead of your home address, they will report that you arrived to meet them, not when you arrived home. This is useful if you want to notify them of your arrival without sending an ETA in Maps.

Estimated time of arrival is used in Maps, not when using the Check-in feature in iMessage

Check-ins can only be done by individuals, not in group chats, and you can only have one active at a time. If you want additional people to know you've arrived at your designated location, use the estimated time of arrival in Maps.

How to send a check-in timer

Validation shouldn't just be used to send location-based alerts; they can also be sent after a certain time. This is great when you are in an unfamiliar place or meeting someone new and your loved one wants to keep you safe.

You will be notified several times when the timer is nearing completion before it happens. Once the time has passed, you will have to cancel the verification manually, otherwise the recipient will be notified that you did not respond.

Send a notification when a preset timer ends

Here's how to switch it up and send a check timer to a friend or family member.

  1. Open messages
  2. Enter a conversation with the person you want to send a tag to
  3. Click on the plus (+ ) next to the message field.
  4. Click Check
  5. Click Edit at the bottom of the window. tip
  6. Switch to After Timer
  7. Select the amount of time you want to pass before the notification is sent

Timer amounts can only be placed in five-minute intervals, meaning you can't set it to 23 minutes, for example. So you can set the timer from five minutes to 23 hours 55 minutes.

You will have 15 minutes to respond to the request. Once the timer expires, you can choose to complete registration completely or add additional time, after which you will be prompted again.

Add time to the registration timer after it ends

If you do not respond to a request within 15 minutes, the recipient will receive a notification and have access to a volume of information which you initially provided to him.

How to change the amount of information you give to the recipient

Whether you are heading home or to another location, if you do not answer the timer check or arrive at your destination on time, a notification will be sent to the recipient. This will allow them to access the information you originally provided to them.

Choices when the timer ends without registration confirmation

The information they can access can range from limited to complete. And depending on which one you choose, the amount of information the recipient will receive will depend.

Limited will allow the recipient to see your latest location, battery, and network signal data. This data will apply to both your iPhone and Apple Watch.

Options in message settings regarding the amount of information provided to the recipient

Full information will contain the same information, as well as the route you recently traveled and the location of the last time you unlocked your iPhone or removed your Apple Watch.

Please note that these settings will apply to every check you send, regardless of who it is addressed to. However, you can change the amount of information available.

Here's how to change the amount of information you provide if you don't respond to a registration notice.

  1. Open Settings
  2. Scroll down to Messages and tap on it
  3. Scroll down to Data in the Check In section
  4. Select Limited or Full

When you submit a check, the option you select will be attached. However, you can change it at any time.

When setting up your registration, you can also go to your registration settings by clicking “Message Settings” in the “Registration Details” section.

Checking in on each other

Checking in is a great way to let others know that you have arrived at your final destination or are delayed due to traffic jams. It will also send important information if you do not respond to registration notifications.

A registration notification is sent to the recipient to let them know that the submission has completed verification.

This is a basic feature that replaces typing a text message. or call someone to check on them. It automatically does all the necessary work and informs you and the recipient when you register.

To use the Check In feature, you must have an iPhone running iOS 17 or later. Additionally, both devices must be running iOS 17 or higher to send each other check-ins.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *