0 Facebook x.com Reddit
The first developer beta of VisionOS 1.1 solves an unexpectedly pressing problem for some Apple Vision Pro users by allowing users to reset their headset's password.
Apple Vision Pro owners have already discovered that there is little they can do to recover their headset if they have forgotten their password, running VisionOS 1.0. But Apple apparently included a solution to the problem in the code of the development beta version of VisionOS 1.1.
Users who forgot their password had to either send their Apple Vision Pro to Apple or visit the Apple Store to reset it, as there was no mechanism to do it themselves. This issue has reportedly caused many calls to Apple support regarding this issue.
In the first developer beta of VisionOS 1.1 released on Tuesday, code discovered by 9to5Mac allows users to erase all data from Apple Vision Pro in cases where they forget their unlock code. This is somewhat similar to the Apple Watch, which can be erased if you forget the device passcode.
The notification states: “This Apple Vision Pro is locked by security. You can wait and enter the password again, or you can erase and reset this Apple Vision Pro now.”
Although Apple Vision Pro data will be deleted, users will still need Apple ID authentication information to reactivate the headset after deletion.