TECH

How to restore Apple Vision Pro to factory settings

Resetting your Apple Vision Pro returns its software to its original state. just unpacked condition.

If you need to pass on your Apple Vision Pro to a new owner or want to start over, you can quickly erase the headset and return it to the condition in which you received it. Here's how to restore your Apple Vision Pro to factory settings.

There are many reasons why someone would want to reset a device to factory settings. The most notable examples include transferring items to another family member or friend, or preparing them for sale on the second-hand market.

It is also possible that something has gone wrong with the configuration and the only real solution is to perform a factory reset before running the installation process again.

As with the iPhone and Mac, you can reset your Apple Vision Pro to factory settings, restoring it to like new in terms of software and settings.

Keep in mind that a factory reset removes everything associated with the user from VisionOS, leaving the Apple Vision Pro in the same state as when it came out of the box. This means that all user data, including stored images, videos, apps and other information, will be deleted as part of the process, and the Apple ID will be disconnected from the hardware.

Back up your Apple Vision Pro first

Before performing a factory reset, it is highly recommended that you back up your Apple Vision Pro in advance. If you are performing a factory reset due to an issue and intend to continue using the headset, you will be able to restore your Apple Vision Pro from a backup and therefore retain your files and settings.

Backup is done via iCloud and can be turned on in Settings, under [Your name], then iCloud, then iCloud Backup.

Here you can enable iCloud backup, run it manually by selecting Back Up Now, and view and delete backups.

How to perform a factory reset setup, restart Apple Vision Pro

  1. After backing up your data, if necessary, open Settings and select General, then Transfer or reset Apple Vision Pro.
  2. Select Delete all content and settings.
  3. You may be asked to enter the password or Apple ID of your device.
  4. Confirm that you want to perform a factory reset.
  5. Wait a few minutes while Apple Vision Pro erases your data and returns to its original state.

If you then start setting up Apple Vision Pro again, you can select Set Up Manually to see options for restoring from a backup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *